NASCUS Pierre Jay Award

The Pierre Jay Award was created by NASCUS to recognize individuals whose contributions have benefited the state credit union system in a significant way. Recipients of the award best demonstrate outstanding service, leadership and commitment to NASCUS and the dual chartering system.

NASCUS first presented the Pierre Jay Award in 1997. It is named after the first Commissioner of Banks in Massachusetts, Pierre Jay, who was appointed to the position in April 1906. The Pierre Jay Award is presented during the NASCUS State System Summit.

Jay learned of the cooperative credit union movement in Milan, Italy and quickly embraced the concept. Despite objection from the banking industry, Jay worked with millionaire Edward Filene of Boston to champion credit union development in the United States.

The Pierre Jay Award recognizes the commitment of Pierre Jay, whose perseverance and service profoundly shaped credit union history.

NASCUS has honored the following recipients with the Pierre Jay Award for outstanding service:

Mike Fitzgerald, 1997
Gary Oakland, 1998
Gavin Gee, 1999
Gary Mielock, 2000
Richard Murakami, 2001
James Forney, 2002
Jim Blaine, 2004
Ella Robinson, 2005
George Latham, 2006
Harold Feeney, 2007
Sharon Whiddon, 2008
Catherine Tierney, 2009
George Reynolds, 2010
Roger Little, 2011
Linda Jekel, 2012
J. Parker Cann, 2013
UBIT Steering Committee, 2014
Tom Candon, 2015