October 1, 2010

NASCUS Seats State Regulators on Board of Directors at Annual Meeting

San Antonio, Texas — At the 2010 NASCUS Annual Meeting on October 1, three sitting NASCUS Board members officially began new three-year terms.

The state regulators continuing their service on the NASCUS Board are Tom Candon (VT), Sue Cowan (WI) and Linda Jekel (WA). Each Board member will serve a three-year term ending in September 2013. The NASCUS Chairman also re-appointed Kathy Stewart (KY) to fill the at-large one-year director position.

Candon, the NASCUS Chairman, is the Deputy Commissioner of Banking and Securities for the Vermont Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration. Cowan is the Director of the Wisconsin Office of Credit Unions, and Jekel, a Past Chairman, serves as the Director of the Washington Division of Credit Unions. Stewart is the Director of Financial Institutions for the Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions.

"The NASCUS Board of Directors is an exemplary group of state regulators who continue to successfully guide NASCUS' strategic direction," said NASCUS President and CEO Mary Martha Fortney. " Our nation's state regulators can be assured that the NASCUS directors will continue to effectively represent their interests."

The NASCUS Board is comprised of nine regulators elected by NASCUS members, comprised of state regulatory agencies and their personnel. The remaining sitting NASCUS Board members include: James Forney; Director, Iowa Department of Commerce; Mary Hughes, Financial Institutions Bureau Chief, Idaho Department of Finance; Jerrie Jay, Administrator, North Carolina Commerce Department, Credit Union Division; Roger Little; Deputy Commissioner, Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Services; and Orla Beth Peck, Supervisor of Credit Unions, Utah Department of Financial Institutions.

Following the Annual Meeting, the Board elected its officers: Peck will continue as the Chairman-Elect and Cowan remains NASCUS Secretary/Treasurer. Candon will serve as NASCUS Chairman until September 2011.

Information Contact:
Kate Hartig, VP, Public Relations and Legislative Affairs, (703) 528-0669 or
The NASCUS mission is to enhance state credit union supervision and advocate a safe and sound state credit union system.