September 19, 2011

Childs and Boesch Continue Service on NASCUS Credit Union Executive Council; Kurish Re-appointed

Arlington, Va. —The NASCUS Credit Union Advisory Council held its 2011 Annual Meeting on Sept. 14 in Chicago where two state credit union CEOs began new terms on NASCUS' Credit Union Executive Council. The Credit Union Advisory Council is governed by the Executive Council, a group of 12 directors who are credit union executives from around the country.

Linda Childs, Knoxville Post Office Credit Union, TN, will continue to represent District 2 for a three-year term, expiring September 2014. Representing District 3, Jason Boesch, Oklahoma RE&T Employees Credit Union, OK, will also continue to serve as a director for another three-year term. Childs has served on the Council as a director since 2005, and Boesch was elected to the Council in 2008.

The new Credit Union Advisory Council Chairman, Catherine Tierney of Community First Credit Union in Wisconsin, also re-appointed at-large director Michael Kurish, Associated Schools ECU, Ohio, to serve a three-year term.
The remainder of the Executive Council includes the following sitting directors: Jim Blaine, State Employees’ Credit Union, NC; J. Parker Cann, BECU, WA; Bob Fouch, Corporate Central Credit Union, WI; Dan Kester, Sooper Credit Union, CO; Debbie Peters, Incol Credit Union, PA; Jack Sheets; Interra Credit Union, Goshen, IN; Tierney, Community First Credit Union, WI; Mendell Thompson, America’s Christian Credit Union, Glendora, California; and Terry West, Vystar Credit Union, FL.

The Executive Council also elected its officers. Childs is the Chairman-elect and Kester is the Secretary.

Information Contact:
NASCUS: Kate Hartig, VP, Public Relations and Legislative Affairs, (703) 528-0669 or

The NASCUS mission is to enhance state credit union supervision and advocate a safe and sound state credit union system.