September 19, 2011

Michigan, Ohio and Utah State Regulators Continue Serving on NASCUS Board; Virginia Regulator Appointed

Arlington, Va. —At the 2011 NASCUS Annual Meeting on Sept. 14 in Chicago, three sitting NASCUS Board members officially began new three-year terms.

The state regulators continuing their service on the NASCUS Board are John Kolhoff (MI), Orla Beth Peck (UT) and Michael Wettrich (OH). Each Board member will serve a three-year term ending in September 2014.

Kolhoff is a Deputy Commissioner for the Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation.  Peck, the Supervisor of Credit Unions for the Utah Department of Financial Institutions, also assumed the NASCUS Chairmanship for a two-year term on Sept. 14. Wettrich is the Deputy Superintendent for Credit Unions for the Ohio Department of Commerce.

New NASCUS Chairman Peck also appointed Werner Paul, deputy commissioner of the Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions, to a one-year term on the NASCUS Board of Directors.

The remaining sitting NASCUS Board members include: Tom Candon, Deputy Commissioner, Vermont Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration; Mary Hughes, Financial Institutions Bureau Chief, Idaho Department of Finance; Jerrie Jay, Administrator, North Carolina Credit Union Division; Linda Jekel, Director of Credit Unions, Washington Department of Financial Institutions; and Kathy Stewart, Director, Director of Financial Institutions, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions.

The NASCUS Board also elected its officers. Hughes is the Chairman-elect and Stewart will serve as Secretary/Treasurer.

Information Contact:
NASCUS: Kate Hartig, VP, Public Relations and Legislative Affairs, (703) 528-0669 or

The NASCUS mission is to enhance state credit union supervision and advocate a safe and sound state credit union system.