September 10, 2014 – For immediate release

Massachusetts, North Carolina and Wisconsin Regulators Elected to the NASCUS Board

At the 2014 NASCUS Annual Meeting on Sept. 10 in Nashville, three NASCUS Board members began new three-year terms.

The state regulators—Jay Bienvenu (Mass.), Rose Conner (N.C.) and Kim Santos (Wis.)—had initially been appointed to terms on the Board; they were elected outright to serve full three-year terms. Their terms will end in 2017.

Bienvenu is the deputy commissioner of Financial Institution Supervision with the Massachusetts Division of Banks, Conner serves as administrator of the North Carolina Credit Union Division, and Santos is director of the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions Office of Credit Unions Division.

The remaining NASCUS Board members include: John Fields, deputy chief examiner for the Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions; Linda K. Jekel, director of the Washington Department of Financial Institutions Division of Credit Unions; Mary Ellen O’Neill, director of the Financial Institution Division of the Connecticut Department of Banking; Werner Paul, deputy commissioner for the Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions; and Stephen S. Pleger, senior deputy commissioner for the Georgia Department of Banking and Finance.

The NASCUS Board elected its officers. Pleger is chairman of the Board of Directors, O’Neill is chairman-elect, and Bienvenu is secretary/treasurer.


Information Contact:
Elizabeth Kirkland, Director of Communications and Marketing, or (703) 528-5974

The NASCUS mission is to enhance state credit union supervision and advocate a safe and sound state credit union system.