July 19, 2016

Significant achievement for agency, representing commitment to effective, sound, uniform supervision

ARLINGTON, Va. -- Reaccreditation of the Kansas Department of Credit Unions was approved in June, the fourth such designation by NASCUS for the state department since the first in 1995, the association announced today.

The KDCU supervises 67 state-chartered credit unions in Kansas, which together hold more than $5.1 billion in assets and count more than 800,000 members.

“Being accredited is a significant achievement for our agency and represents the commitment of the KDCU, along with other NASCUS-accredited state regulatory agencies, to the effective, sound and uniform supervision of the nation’s state credit union system,” said Jerel Wright, KDCU administrator.

Kansas is one of 26 state agencies nationwide that has earned NASCUS accreditation. NASCUS accreditation is valid for five years, and is subject to annual review. The annual review process enables the accredited agency and the NASCUS Performance Standards Committee (PSC) to measure progress and improvement within each agency.

To earn accreditation, an agency’s qualifications are evaluated by an Accreditation Review Team (ART), who completes a thorough examination of the agency’s accreditation application and supporting documents, followed by three days of intense on-site scrutiny of agency programs and performance.   

For more information about the NASCUS accreditation program, see the link below.


Details about the NASCUS accreditation program

Information Contact:
Patrick Keefe, Vice President, Communications, or (703) 528-5974

The National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS) is the primary resource and voice of the state governmental agencies that charter, regulate and examine the nation’s state-chartered credit unions. NASCUS membership is made up of state-chartered credit unions, state regulators and other supporters of the state credit union system. NASCUS is the only organization dedicated to the defense and promotion of the state credit union charter and the autonomy of state credit union regulatory agencies.