Aug. 10, 2016


ARLINGTON, Va. -- Texas is the latest state to earn reaccreditation by NASCUS, continuing the Lone Star State’s status that began in 1996, when the Texas Credit Union Department was first accredited.

The state was last accredited in 2011.

The TCUD regulatory program, with 16 examiners, supervises 185 credit unions chartered by the state (three of which are privately insured), with total assets of more than $34.9 billion.

Earlier this year, Kansas, Idaho and Vermont earned reaccreditation from NASCUS. In total, 26 state agencies are NASCUS accredited, which is valid for five years and subject to annual review. The review process enables the accredited agency and the NASCUS Performance Standards Committee (PSC) to measure progress and improvement within each agency.

To earn accreditation, an agency’s qualifications are evaluated by an Accreditation Review Team (ART), which completes a thorough examination of the agency’s accreditation application and supporting documents, followed by three days of intense on-site scrutiny of agency programs and performance.  

Details about the NASCUS accreditation program

Information Contact:
Patrick Keefe, Vice President, Communications, or (703) 528-5974

The National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS) is the primary resource and voice of the state governmental agencies that charter, regulate and examine the nation’s state-chartered credit unions. NASCUS membership is made up of state-chartered credit unions, state regulators and other supporters of the state credit union system. NASCUS is the only organization dedicated to the defense and promotion of the state credit union charter and the autonomy of state credit union regulatory agencies.
Details about the NASCUS accreditation program