State Regulators Continue Service on FFIEC State Liaison Committee

April 19, 2011 —The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council announced the reappointment of three of the Council's State Liaison Committee (SLC) members, including state credit union regulator, Harold Feeney, the commissioner of the Texas Credit Union Department.

The two-year terms for these reappointed SLC members will run from April 1, 2011 through March 31, 2013. In addition to Feeney, the American Council of State Savings Supervisors confirmed reappointment of Douglas Foster, Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending Commissioner, and the Conference of State Bank Supervisors confirmed reappointment of John Munn, Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance Director. Munn serves the FFIEC SLC Chairman, a position he has held since 2008.

The five-member SLC also includes David Cotney, Commissioner, Massachusetts Division of Banks, and Charles A. Vice, Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions. On April 1, National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) Chairman Debbie Matz began a two-year chairmanship of FFIEC.

In 2006, Congress made the SLC Chairman a voting member of the FFIEC. The FFIEC is comprised of the heads of NCUA, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the FDIC and the Office of Thrift Supervision. It was established to make recommendations to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions.

To read more about FFIEC, follow this link.