State council names TN’s Gonzales chairman

May 1, 2017 -- Tennessee’s Greg Gonzales is now the chairman of the State Liaison Council (SLC) of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC), as a result of elections by the council members.

In a press release, the FFIEC announced the results of the election, in which Gonzales – commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions – was elected to the one-year term as SLC chairman. His term runs until April 30, 2018. According to the FFIEC, the SLC may re-elect the chairman for additional terms.

Gonzales has served as Tennessee commissioner since 2005. He serves as the state’s chief regulatory officer of all state-chartered depository and licensed non-depository financial institutions. He has served on the SLC since February, 2016.

Other members of the five-member SLC are: Mary Hughes, financial institutions bureau chief of the Idaho Department of Finance (appointed by NASCUS); Joe Face, commissioner of financial institutions for the Virginia State Corporation Commission’s Bureau of Financial Institutions; Caroline Jones, commissioner of the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending.

The appointment of Judi Stork, deputy bank commissioner, Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner, to the fifth seat on the council was also announced today by the SLC. Stork was appointed to a two-year term starting May 1, 2017, and continuing through April 30, 2019.